Culture and Society

How many countries are members of Interpol?
Answered by Discovery Channel
  • Discovery Channel

    Discovery Channel

  1. Interpol is an entirely voluntary organization and not under the jurisdiction of any one country or other international organization. Nearly 200 member countries participate. A Secretary General, who serves a five-year term, is appointed by Interpol's General Assembly. The Secretary General is responsible for the day-to-day operations. Delegates from each member country attend a yearly General Assembly. They also elect the Executive Committee, a 13-member group that oversees Interpol's administration. Interpol's main office is in Lyon, France, and it has six regional offices. These regional offices cover the globe; there's one in Argentina, El Salvador, Cote d'Ivoire, Kenya and Zimbabwe. A seventh Interpol location in New York is a liaison office with the United Nations.

    More answers from Discovery Channel »

Still Curious?
  • How might the workplace of tomorrow be different?

    Answered by John Sculley

  • What does your Social Security number mean?

    Answered by Science Channel

  • How do you describe your cooking?

    Answered by Tom Colicchio, Alessandro Stratta and 5 others


What are you curious about?

Image Gallery