Importance of Biodiversity

What are the two major types of ecological succession?
Answered by Discovery Channel
  • Discovery Channel

    Discovery Channel

  1. The two types of ecological succession are primary and secondary succession. In primary succession, the pioneer stage starts when organisms invade a previously unoccupied area. In secondary succession, the pioneer stage begins when organisms invade an area that's already been occupied. In each type, the successive communities of organisms slowly begin to change the area, leading to the intermediate stage. For example, in the early stages of an area's succession, new grasses and shrubs growing there affect the nutrient content of the soil. This makes the soil more compatible for trees. When a community reaches a relatively stable number of members of each of its species, the ecosystem is said to reach its climax.

    More answers from Discovery Channel »

Still Curious?
  • How can great whites bring awareness to ocean conservation?

    Answered by John O'Sullivan

  • What can aquariums teach us about the oceans?

    Answered by Julie Packard and John O'Sullivan

  • What are the greatest threats to coral reefs?

    Answered by Planet Green


What are you curious about?

Image Gallery