What are the different cave zones?
Answered by Planet Green
  • Planet Green

    Planet Green

  1. The three different kinds of cave dwellers each live in different parts of a cave.

    • The entrance zone is the area that most resembles the environment above ground. It has green plants, the temperature varies and light can penetrate it. Animals like bears eat, sleep or nest here.
    • The twilight zone is just beyond the entrance zone. There's much less light here with little vegetation. The temperature is fairly constant but fluctuates some according to what's happening outside. Many trogloxenes live here, like bats and moths, but can come and go as they please.
    • The dark zone is the deepest part of a cave. No light penetrates to these depths at all, and the temperature is steady. Troglobites call this area home. They have little pigmentation, as well as antennae, and may not have eyes.

    Cave Biology Zones 2
    (2009 HowStuffWorks)

    More answers from Planet Green »

Still Curious?
  • How does a cave food pyramid work?

    Answered by Planet Green

  • Why do the Galapagos Islands have a diverse set of inhabitants?

    Answered by Science Channel

  • What are the various types of islands?

    Answered by Discovery Channel


What are you curious about?

Image Gallery